UKTC Taekwon-Do

Our Taekwon-Do lessons are across multiple locations, including: Renfrewshire, Fife, North Ayrshire, East Ayrshire, and Glasgow, Find your nearest class today.

Book a FREE Trial Lesson

Tel: 01259210716

Taekwon-Do Syllabus and Grading

What is the Taekwon-Do Syllabus?

Taekwon-Do has a structured training schedule to allow all students to achieve their full potential. There is a grading system, which allows each student to train towards achieving a higher rank signified by the colour of the belt that they will wear. The colour of belt signifies the level of skill that the student possesses as outlined below.

Your instructor will work with you to achieve the necessary standard to be successful in these gradings. Your instructor will advise you when it is time to apply for gradings, notice of gradings will be given in written form outlining the date, venue and costs at class. Gradings are held regularly at designated Grading Centres.

Taekwon-Do Belts

There are six belts: white, yellow, green, blue, red and black. A white belt is given to beginners and black is given to students who have progressed through the grades and have a solid foundation for learning the techniques of Taekwon-Do.

The definitions of the belts are as follows:

  • White Belt
    Signifies innocence, as that of the beginning student who has no previous knowledge of Taekwon-Do.
  • Yellow Belt
    Signifies the earth from which a plant sprouts and takes root as the foundation of Taekwon-Do is being laid.
  • Green Belt
    Signifies the plant’s growth as Taekwon-Do skills begin to develop.
  • Blue Belt
    Signifies the Heaven towards which the plant matures into a towering tree as training in Taekwon-Do progresses.
  • Red Belt
    Signifies Danger, cautioning the student to exercise control and warning the opponent to stay away.
  • Black Belt
    Opposite of white, therefore signifying the maturity and proficiency in Taekwon-Do, also indicates the wearer’s imperviousness to darkness and fear.

Students must grade through the following belts in the following order:

  • White belt given to the beginner (10th gup)
  • White belt yellow tags (9th gup)
  • Yellow belt (8th gup)
  • Yellow belt green tags (7th gup)
  • Green belt (6th gup)
  • Green belt blue tags (5th gup)
  • Blue belt (4th gup))
  • Blue belt red tags (3rd gup)
  • Red belt (2nd gup)
  • Red belt black tags (1st gup)
  • Black Belt (1st dan/degree).

 UKTC Taekwon-Do

Our Taekwon-Do lessons are across multiple locations
including: Renfrewshire, Fife
North Ayrshire, East Ayrshire
and Glasgow
Find your nearest class today

  Telephone: 01259210716